Menu Icon Search

DPA classification update

August 02, 2022

An update of the Distribution Priority Area (DPA) classification system will now recognise 700 areas with either full or partial DPA classification, meaning practices will be able to recruit GPs from a much wider pool of doctors.

This is a result of the Albanese Government’s election commitment to provide automatic DPA classification to regional areas classified as Modified Monash (MM) 2, as well as maintaining exceptional circumstances DPA classifications.

This DPA update will support and encourage GPs to work in communities in need and provide regional and rural Australians with more equitable access to quality care.

The DPA changes are already in effect.

Read more